Skip to main content

In an evening of individual excellence, the community stole the show. At the 2022 Stanford Health Care Medical Personnel Awards, trustees and recipients praised teamwork and a collaborative environment to foster exemplary work recognized at the ceremony.

“It’s an amazing community,” said Megan Mahoney, MD, professor of medicine and chief of staff at Stanford Health Care. “And while we’re spotlighting exceptional individuals tonight, we’re also talking about exceptional teams here.”

The ongoing impact of the pandemic was evident in the work of the honorees and in the nature of the hybrid event Thursday at Stanford Hospital, with honorees and their families joining the leaders in person while dozens more attended. through Zoom.

“Our ability to stay calm, stay focused, and stay compassionate has been so amazing,” said David Entwistle, president and CEO of Stanford Health Care. “It made a difference for our patients and it made a difference in our community.”

Marc Jones, chairman of the board of Stanford Health Care, applauded the ability of doctors and staff to excel despite the extreme demands of the pandemic.

“What we’ve done to save lives has been incredibly impressive,” Jones said. “How many lives have been saved? How many families have remained intact thanks to the work you all have done?

Lloyd Minor, MD, Dean of Stanford University Medical School, described how Stanford’s medical community has risen to the challenge of the pandemic.

“Crises can either separate people or bring them together,” he said. “In many ways, the COVID-19 crisis has brought us closer. We were already well aligned, but it allowed us to create a synergy and a collective focus that was really inspiring and motivating.

Physician of the Year and Top Two

Nineteen people were honored this year, including the first recipient of a new award for professionalism.

The prestigious Physician of the Year award was presented to Nancy Morioka-Douglas, MD, Clinical Professor of Medicine. Over a 40-year career as a family physician, researcher, educator, and mentor, Morioka-Douglas has empowered patients to take care of their own health. She successfully created the Stanford Youth Diabetes Coaches Program and the Positive Experience Project for seniors with depression.

While presenting the award, Robert Harrington, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine and Arthur L. Bloomfield Professor of Medicine, said Morioka-Douglas, who retired from clinical practice the day before the event, was an “excellent example of bringing together science, humanism and medicine.

For the first time, the Excellence in Quality and Safety Award was presented to a recipient whose primary focus is education. Erika Schillinger, MD, a highly decorated clinical professor of medicine and teacher, is the executive director of patient and family-engaged medical education programs, including the innovative Walk With Me, which pairs students with patients with chronic or serious illnesses to form a welcoming connection and support.

The first recipient of the Kelley M. Skeff Award for Professionalism was Odette Harris, MD, professor of neurosurgery and professor of spinal injury medicine to Paralyzed Veterans of America. The new honor is named after Kelley Skeff, MD, PhD, George DeForest Barnett Professor II in Medicine.

Harris, who has been praised for her technical competence, work ethic, dedication to patient care and ability to perform to the highest standards, was a medical student and resident when Skeff served as director of the medical residency program. internal. “Dr. Skeff held an important place in our world and was synonymous with excellence in all fields,” she said. “To be the first recipient of this award, so many years later, is an honor. “

Excellence Personified

Errol Ozdalga, MD, Clinical Associate Professor of Medicine, won the Service Excellence Award. Ozdalga, the bedside medicine program director, was recognized for his exceptional clinical care, particularly his skill and empathy in having difficult conversations with patients and their families. Ozdalga, director of communications for the Department of Medicine, was praised for adapting quickly to the pandemic, moving major weekly medical rounds online and aggressively recruiting experts from across the country to address timely issues. which increased attendance.

Ria Paul, MD, assistant clinical professor of medicine, won the value enhancement award for her work on responsible care and value-based care.

Wendy Caceres, MD, Associate Clinical Professor of Medicine, received the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award. As associate program director of Stanford’s internal medicine residency program, Caceres “shifted the trajectory” of the program to look at selection from a more holistic perspective, Harrington said.

Julieta Gabiola, MD, Clinical Professor of Medicine, received the Kevin Malott Award for Humanitarian Service. Gabiola founded ABC’s for Global Health, focused on improving chronic disease management among Filipinos in the Philippines and the United States. In addition to regular medical missions, she helped develop a strong telehealth program long before the pandemic.

Jeff Chi, MD, chief of the general practice section of the Division of Hospital Medicine, won the Innovations in Care award for ensuring that hospital shifts were covered throughout the pandemic, even though his colleagues praised him for his respect and support for the well-being of physicians.

Poonam Hosamani, MD, Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine, won the Excellence in Teaching Award for her passionate dedication to education. Hosamani said she knew early in her career that she wanted to focus on medical education, but during post-residency job interviews she said she was met with skepticism — until she arrived at Stanford. “‘We are the place that can help you achieve your goals,'” Hosamani said. “And it’s very appropriate for me to be here for my 10th anniversary at Stanford.”

Rebecca Miller-Kuhlmann, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor of Neurology and Neurological Sciences, and Wellness Director for the Department of Neurology, received the Excellence in Our Workplace Award for her “tenacious desire to improve the work-life balance,” Harrington said.

Sheneé Laurence, RN, Executive Director of Quality and Operations, was named Administrator of the Year for her tireless advocacy for patient safety and quality. Mahoney praised Laurence as a “drama-free problem solver” and said his leadership was critical in Stanford Health Care’s handling of the pandemic.


Five individuals received special recognition for their professional achievements:

Sarah Donaldson, MD, Catharine and Howard Avery Professor of Radiation Oncology; Stephen Galli, MD, Mary Hewitt Loveless, MD, professor of pathology and microbiology and immunology; David Gregg, MD, emergency medicine surgeon; Peter Koltai, MD, professor emeritus of otolaryngology and pediatrics; and Branimir Sikic, MD, professor emeritus of oncology.

Three were honored posthumously:

Steven Coutre, MD, professor of hematology; Ellie Guardino, MD, PhD, oncologist and former vice president of Genentech; and Stanley Shrier, MD, founding member of Stanford’s Division of Hematology.